With more than one billion downloads on the Google Play Store, Snapchat has garnered a large audience of which the majority are millennials.
And truth be told, our generation tends to get into a lot of fights whether it is real or virtual. Similar to other social media apps, Snapchat allows you to block people on the platform whom you don’t want to entertain.
But what if you blocked a friend on Snapchat, on the spur of the moment, and now you want to unlock them?
The bad blood between you and your friend has probably been dealt with and you now find no problem in unblocking your friend on Snapchat. Here’s how to unblock someone on Snapchat
• How To Delete Snapchat If You Are Bored Of It?
• Snapchat Streak Lost? Here Is How To Restore It
• How To Take Screenshots On Snapchat Without Them Knowing?
How To Unblock Someone On Snapchat
- Open the Snapchat app on your phone. Log in to the app if you have logged out previously.
- Tap on your Bitmoji icon or username in the top left corner of the screen
- Now tap on the Settings icon (cog-wheel) in the top right corner of the screen
- Scroll to the bottom and tap on the Blocked option in the Account Actions category
- You can see the list of people you have blocked on the Snapchat app.
- Now click on the X icon beside a username.
- Tap on Yes in the confirmation box to unblock the user.
By following the above-mentioned steps, you can easily unblock people on Snapchat. Bear in mind that unblocking someone doesn’t add them to your friend list on Snapchat.
In other words, you have to add the person as a friend again on Snapchat in order to share photos and stories.
Why can’t I unblock someone on Snapchat?
If you want to unblock someone on Snapchat but are unable to do so then it can mean two things: Either the particular person has deleted the account or the person has not removed you from his/her Snapchat block list.
What happens when you block someone on Snapchat?
If you block an individual on Snapchat, that person will be unable to find you anywhere on the platform. Also, that person doesn’t get any sort of notifications.
Moreover, the blocked person will not be able to see any of your posts, stories, or send you any snaps on the platform.
How do you know if someone has blocked you on Snapchat?
You can find out if someone has blocked you on Snapchat by searching their username from any other Snapchat account.
If you are able to locate the person on a separate Snapchat account, that means you have been blocked. However, if the person’s username still doesn’t show up, then it means that they have deactivated their account.
How long does it take to unblock someone on Snapchat?
As you saw above, unblocking someone on Snapchat is not a very complicated task. You can simply do it by visiting the Settings option >> Account and Actions >> Blocked and just unblock the person from there.
Will I receive the messages after unblocking?
If the person has sent you a message, story, or snap while being blocked, then it won’t appear on your chat even after unblocking that person.
All you can do is ask the person to resend the texts and snaps that you missed while the person was blocked on Snapchat.
Does blocking someone on Snapchat delete unopened snaps?
If you block someone before the person opens the snap you don’t want them to see, your conversation will disappear from their profile, along with the snap.
However, the snap and the conversation will still appear on your account.