Instagram has become a powerful platform in recent times, with almost everyone having a presence on it. Considering the number of users engaged on Instagram, there is no doubt that it will ever go out of intriguing content. As a result, there is no denying the urge to take screenshots or screen record the content one finds fascinating.
What if you take a screenshot of a picture you like or someone’s story — will they be notified? In most cases, no, they will not be. However, there are some scenarios in which Instagram will notify the user if someone has taken a screenshot. Let’s delve into the article further to find out when does Instagram show such notifications
The concept of notifying a user if someone has taken a screenshot of their story was first introduced by Snapchat. As a result, Instagram introduced the feature, which gave a notification to a user when a follower took a screenshot of their story. This feature was introduced by Instagram a few years back, but it had a short-lived life, and it hasn’t made a comeback ever since. Meanwhile, it is not safe to assume that this feature can’t be added in future updates.
As of now, Instagram does not send you any notification if a user takes a screenshot of your story.
In case some of you are wondering if Instagram will give a notification when you screenshot or screen record a user’s Instagram Reel, no, Instagram will not send any notification for it.
If a user takes a screenshot of the text message you sent, Instagram will not send you a notification. However, there’s more to it as Instagram offers its users two options for messaging within the app.
One of them is the disappearing Direct Message, which gives you three options — whether you wish for them to see the message’s content only once, allow replay, or keep in chat. You can send a disappearing DM by clicking on the camera button in the bottom left of the chat window.
In this specific case, Instagram will notify you if the user takes a screenshot of your disappearing DM.
The other one is the regular DM that you send to a user either in a text format, a picture, or a video. If another user takes a screenshot of either one, unfortunately, Instagram will not notify you.
Talking about engaging content posted on Instagram by numerous users, it is irresistible not to take screenshots of the pictures a user wishes to see later without fussing about opening the app again. There might be the case that a user wants to take a screenshot of your profile to save the contact information and avoid any inconvenience of looking for it again.
In all the scenarios mentioned, Instagram will not notify you if a user takes a screenshot of your post, irrespective of it being a picture, a video, or a profile.
Any third-party app, which claims to provide notifications in case of screenshots is a hoax. You must never give out sensitive information like your username and password to any app that makes such claims.
Instagram has placed solid restrictions in place when it comes to keeping the user’s information safe. Among them is the Instagram API for privacy and security reasons, which restricts any third-party app from revealing if someone takes a screenshot.
To sum it up, Instagram doesn’t give notifications if someone screenshots your post, profile, or regular DM. However, if someone takes a screenshot of the disappearing DM, Instagram will notify you.