Batman Arkham Games In Order Of Release And Story

Batman Arkham Games In Order Of Release And Story

Recently, WB Games Montreal announced Gotham Knights, the upcoming edition in the fan-favorite Batman video game series. However, there are still so many gaming enthusiasts who have never played all previous Batman games.

If you fall in that particular category, then maybe it’s time for you to play previous Batman games to connect with the story of Gotham Knights a little better, even though Gotham Knights doesn’t fall in the Batman Arkham series.

If you’re planning to do that, then you’re in luck. In this article, we are going to talk about all Batman games in order of release and story. So, you can go ahead and complete the story of the Batman Arkham series before the Gotham Knights video game releases next year.

Batman Arkham Games In Order Of Release

S.NO Batman Games In Order Of Release Release
1 Batman: Arkham Asylum August 2009
2 Batman: Arkham City October 2011
3 Batman: Arkham Origins October 2013
4 Batman: Arkham Knight June 2015

1. Batman: Arkham Asylum (August 2009)

Batman Arkham Asylum was the first game in the Arkham series that was released back in 2009. The game is available for PS3, Xbox 360, PC, Mac OS X, Xbox One, and PS4. Everything in Batman Arkham Asylum, from Storyline to combat, was so excellent that the game was titled “greatest comic book game of all time.”

In the video game, Batman has to go against his archenemy, Joker, who plans to take control over the Arkham Asylum and trap Batman inside with dangerous foes. Also, with Batman trapped inside the Asylum, Joker intends to threaten the Gotham City with numerous bombs planted throughout the city.

Now, Batman must defeat characters like Scarecrow and Bane inside the Asylum and use his Detective skills to get out of the Asylum to save the city.

Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, Windows, Classic Mac OS

2. Batman: Arkham City (October 2011)

Following the success of Arkham Asylum, Rocksteady Studios decided to release a sequel to the game in 2011. Like its predecessor, Arkham City was a big success and received numerous awards. It is even considered one of the most incredible action games of all time because of its narrative and gameplay.

The story of Arkham City takes place one year after the events of the first game in the Arkham Series.

When Arkham Asylum is no longer capable of holding the city’s notorious criminals in the facility, the authorities decide to buy the city’s slums to convert them into a prison enclosure, known as Arkham City.

Batman realizes that Dr. Hugo Strange, who is the warden of Arkham City, is planning something evil. So, he decides to investigate the situation by getting inside of Arkham City, where Cat Woman also accompanies him. And yes, you get to play as Cat Woman to get a few things done that Batman isn’t capable of doing.

Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PS4, Xbox One, Windows, Wii U, OS X

3. Batman: Arkham Origins (October 2013)

If you are thinking of playing Batman Games in order of release, then Batman Arkham Origins takes the third spot in the Arkham series.

Unlike Arkham Asylum and Arkham City, Origins wasn’t developed by Rocksteady Studios. Instead, the game was created by WB Games Montreal, a subsidiary of Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment.

The story of the Batman Arkham Origins takes place five years before the events of Arkham Asylum. It follows a younger Batman who has to go against several dangerous criminals, including Joker and Anarky, who are after him after Black Mask put a massive bounty on him. Moreover, a corrupt SWAT team is also after Batman for taking the $50 Million prize for themselves.

Batman Arkham Origins was praised for a lot of things, including its storyline, voice acting, and boss battles. Other than that, a lot of Batman Arkham series fans were disappointed with the game because of some constant technical errors. Also, unlike its predecessors, Origins lacks attention to detail.

Platforms: Windows, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii U, Android, iOS

4. Batman: Arkham Knight (June 2015)

Arkham Knight is the latest edition in the Batman Arkham series. So, this is the final game you have to play to complete the Batman Games in order of release.

Batman Arkham Knight was developed by Rocksteady Studios and was one of the best action-adventure video game in 2015. Critics, as well as fans, appreciated everything from narrative to gameplay of Arkham Knight.

Batman Arkham Knight is the sequel to 2011’s Arkham City. The story of the game takes place nine months after the ending of Arkham City. After what happened at the end of Arkham City (not giving any spoilers), citizens of Gotham feels safer.

However, Batman’s nemesis like Scarecrow, Penguin, and Harley Quinn unites with a single goal in mind, which is to kill Batman. Interestingly, this time, Batman isn’t alone either as he is supported by Nightwing, Batgirl, and Robin to take down the notorious criminals.

Also, this is the first game in the Batman Arkham Collection to feature Batmobile. So, you have enough motivation to complete all the previous Batman games in order and finally play Batman Arkham Knight.

Platforms: Windows, PS4, Xbox One

Batman Arkham Games In Order Of Story

Now that you know how to play Batman Arkham game in order of release, then it’s time for you to learn the order of story as well.

If you’re this far, then you must already know that Batman: Arkham Origins, which is the third game in the Batman Arkham series, is the prequel to the first Batman Arkham game.

So, if you want to play Batman Arkham games in order of the story, then this is how the list goes:

S.NO Batman Games In Order Of Story Release
1 Batman: Arkham Origins October 2013
2 Batman: Arkham Asylum August 2009
3 Batman: Arkham City October 2011
4 Batman: Arkham Knight June 2015

Gotham Knights – New Batman Game (2021)

‘Gotham Knights’ is the upcoming edition in the Batman video game series that is set to release in 2021. It is an action role-playing video game that is being developed by WB Games Montreal, the same studio that developed Arkham Origins.

The story of Gotham Knights is expected to pick off just after the end of Batman: Arkham Knight. In the game, there will be four different playable characters, i.e., Nightwing, Batgirl, Robin, and Red Hood, with each superhero, have their own sets of skills and abilities. Surprisingly, Gotham Knights will also feature a two-player co-op multiplayer feature, which is quite exciting.

Gotham Knights will indeed have an original story not connected to other Batman Arkham games. However, playing all Arkham Games before playing the new Batman game, Gotham Knights will still link you to the game much better.

FAQs On Batman Games

Batman Arkham Series Order: Wrapping Up

So, there you have it; every Batman game you have to play to complete the Arkham games in order. Other than the games we’ve mentioned above, there are few spin-offs Arkham games. However, we’ve chosen to neglect the spin-offs because they don’t contribute to the Batman Arkham storyline that much. If you have any queries related to the order of Batman Arkham games, feel free to ask in the comment box!

Similar Posts