How To Delete Telegram Account And Save Your Privacy

Protect your data from being misused.

Share on twitter
Tweet
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on facebook
Share
telegram account deletion

Recently, many users have jumped ship to Telegram due to the rising issues with WhatsApp’s privacy policies. Due to this, people have raised several concerns over their data being shared with Facebook without their consent. As a result, apps such as Signal and Telegram had quite an influx of new users. With Telegram alone hitting 500 million active new users earlier this year, we can see the consequences of this change.

However, Telegram is not without its share of troubles due to it being filled with controversies since its launch.

What’s wrong with Telegram?

Due to this, the only way to make sure that your data doesn’t fall into the wrong hands is to delete your Telegram account permanently. Unfortunately, that is the only way to ensure that you don’t leave a trace on the Telegram servers.

Additionally, in this day and age where privacy and security are often at risk, it has become important to take steps to ensure our safety. Hopefully, this article helps you keep yourself secure.

Note- Before deleting your Telegram account, you should export your data to save your chats, contact list, groups, etc.

Delete Telegram account permanently

Deleting your Telegram account will permanently delete all your data. This includes your chats, contact list, groups, etc.

Telegram authorization page

1. Go to Telegram’s Authorization page.

2. Enter your number in international format by adding country code as prefix and press Next. For eg- +91 1234567890 (for India).

telegram account delete
Telegram message

3. Telegram will send you a confirmation code through the app.

telegram confirmation code
Telegram confirmation code

4. Go back to the authorization page to put in the code, then Sign in.

Telegram account options

5. Select the “Delete My Account” option.

how to delete telegram
Telegram account deletion

6. Scroll to the bottom and press the “Delete My Account Button.”

confirm telegram account deletion
Telegram account deletion confirmation

7. A confirmation will pop up. Press Yes, and you are done.

Inactive account deletion

Still on the fence about deleting your Telegram account? Don’t worry; there’s another way to delete your account. Telegram has a self-destruct feature where it will automatically delete your account after a couple of months of inactivity. This feature is recommended if you plan to use the app for now. But do not want your data to be compromised in the future.

Telegram Hamburger menu

1. Open Telegram settings.

telegram settings menu
Telegram settings

2. Open Privacy and Security settings.

Telegram Privacy and Security settings

3. Under the “Delete my account” option, Select “In Away For.”

telegram account self destruct
Telegram account self-destruct

4. Here, you can change when to delete your account after inactivity. The account self-destruct is set for six months by default, but you can choose between a month to a year.

Note- The app will automatically delete your account after the previously selected amount of time has passed. Whenever you use the app, the date will reset each time and start counting from that day.

It’s a tough time nowadays regarding social privacy, which might worsen in the near future. People’s concerns have grown considerably after the recent events, showing us that the government might coerce many of our social media platforms to share information. Therefore, make sure that your data is safe by using VPNs and proper end-to-end encryption softwares. I hope this article helped you in making yourself secure.

Nalin Rawat

Nalin Rawat

Just a big nerd for everything pop culture and geeky. Pretty much in love with movies, comics, games, and awesome new gadgets.
Scroll to Top