Debian Linux In A Single Image: Understanding The Universal Operating System


Debian_6.0.2.1Short Bytes: In this article, we bring to you a useful Linux infographic that tells you about Debian Linux and its different areas. The infographic lists the different Debian releases and various stages in the development process. 

Debian has a very rich history as it holds an importance place in the evolution of Linux-based operating systems. It’s one of the most popular open source operating systems for PCs and servers. First announced by Ian Murdock in 1993, Debian saw its first stable release in 1996.

The Linux-based distributions come with tons of tools that make package managing extremely easy. However, understanding the development process of Debian and its different areas is difficult for the general public. To make this job easier, Claudio F Filho has created an excellent Linux infographic that explains Debian and its various versions.

Learn Linux From Fossbytes Academy

This infographic lists the name and purposes of the Stable, Unstable, Testing and Experimental branches of Debian.

Debian Linux In A Single Image
(Click To Enlarge)


Debian Fact: For those who don’t know, Debian’s name is a portmanteau of the names of its founder Ian Murdock, and his wife, Debra.

Did you find this infographic helpful? Add your views in the comments section below.

Also read: Learn it Faster: The Complete Linux Kernel in a Single Map
Adarsh Verma

Adarsh Verma

Fossbytes co-founder and an aspiring entrepreneur who keeps a close eye on open source, tech giants, and security. Get in touch with him by sending an email — [email protected]
More From Fossbytes

Latest On Fossbytes

Find your dream job