Netflix & 14 Other Streaming Platforms Sign Self-Regulation Code In India

Streaming Platforms Sign Self-Regulation Code in India

Fifteen online streaming platforms, including Netflix, Amazon Prime, and Hotstar, have signed the Universal Self-Regulation Code for OCCPs (Online Curated Content Providers) in India.

Introduced by the Internet and Mobile Association of India (IAMAI), the code is an agreement between streaming services to self-regulate their content.

What is the Universal Self-Regulation Code for OCCPs?

As the name suggests, it is a set of common guidelines that the signatories have agreed to follow. Streaming services like Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, Zee5, and so on have agreed on these guidelines.

The code will focus on classifying content for various age groups and other measures to serve appropriate content for their audience. Furthermore, it is also said to offer a grievance redressal mechanism to report non-compliance.

A statement issued by the IAMAI says, “The goal of this industry-wide effort is to empower consumers with information and tools to assist them in making informed choice with regard to viewing decisions for them and their families.”

The signatories to this code are Zee5, Viacom 18, Disney Hotstar, Amazon Prime Video, Netflix, MX Player, Jio Cinema, Eros Now, Alt Balaji, Arre, HoiChoi, Hungama, Shemaroo, Discovery Plus, and Flickstree.

Regulations so far

OCCPs or Online streaming platforms did not have any official regulatory guidelines so far. One of the reasons is the sheer volume of content on these platforms. With the current growth of OCCPs, it will be a mammoth task for any government to regulate all the content.

However, with the signing of the Universal Self-Regulation Code, the platforms have agreed to a certain degree of self-correction. This will likely keep the possibility of government intervention at bay.

Similar Posts