Facebook messenger unsend messages

After it was revealed that Facebook CEO could unsend his messages on the Messenger, the company received a significant criticism from the users.

Now, Facebook has made the feature available for everyone. Users can now unsend the messages sent on Facebook Messenger, and the messages will be removed from the recipient’s inbox. The feature allows users to retract messages within 10 minutes after the message has been delivered.

Named as “Remove for Everyone“, the new addition to the platform indicates that a message has been ‘unsent’ by showing “you removed a message” in the place of the retracted message.

The company has said that the deleted messages will be retained internally for a short period of time for policy violation review purposes only.

The Remove for Everyone feature is available for the users residing in Poland, Lithuania, Bolivia and Colombia on both Android as well as the iOS platform. Facebook is planning to roll out the feature for its global audience as soon as possible.

A Facebook spokesperson has revealed to the Techcrunch that they are working on more unsend features including setting an expiry date for a particular message or for an entire thread. Messages will be automatically deleted once the expiry date is reached.

Facebook’s head of Messenger Stan Chudnovsky said, “We need to make sure people aren’t sending you bad messages and then removing them because if you report them and the messages aren’t there, we can’t do anything.”

Also Read: Samsung’s Foldable Smartphone Could Finally Launch In March