Facebook has taken upon itself to notify all the 87 million victims of Cambridge Analytica Scandal, whose data may have been leaked by creating a link at the top of their News Feed.
Starting from April 9, users will be able to a see a link titled “Protecting Your Information” on their News Feed. Here, you can find out which apps are connected to your Facebook feed and what kind of information you have shared with those apps.
In case you no longer use an app or wish to stop sharing data with them, Facebook will provide you the option to disable those apps and completely remove third-party access.
Moreover, users whose data was leaked to Cambridge Analytica will receive an additional notice from the company. There are three versions of the messages that are being sent to Facebook users based on whether their data was usurped by the app “This Is Your Digital Life.”
In case of data leak caused by direct logging into This Is Your Digital Life app by a user, the following message would be displayed on the screen.
If a user’s data was leaked due to a friend who logged into the app, this message given below would be displayed. It says that your basic information such as public profile, page likes, birthday, etc., have been shared.
For users whose data remain unharmed, Facebook will send the following message along with the new privacy control settings.
Although Facebook is taking corrective measures, yet scores of people feel unsafe on the platform and are shutting down their accounts as details of the data leak emerged. If you feel the same, here’s how to delete your account permanently.
Also Read: Facebook To Add “Unsend” Message Feature After Zuckerberg Caught Deleting Chats